Provoked (Enlightenment, #1)Provoked by Joanna Chambers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m a sucker for star crossed couples. There. I said it. I’m also a sucker for Joanna Chambers novels, apparently. I enjoy her writing very much. Just when I think I know where the story is going, or the prose starts to get routine, and I feel like I could skim a bit, she throws in a plot twist or a turn of phrase to bring me back to full attention.

She’s also fantastic at writing couples full of angst. Not everyone enjoys angst in their characters, so I understand why her books may not be for everyone. Me? I love the angst. Both of her characters main characters suffer with it in Provoked. In fact, it even spills over onto the two secondary characters. The book starts with an execution, if that is any indication of the angst level.

I also appreciate that she isn’t harping on one note. This is a m/m romance set in a time where such a thing could get you killed. And yet, this is far from the only reason why the main characters are unable to get together. You get the feeling, reading the book, that they would have had all the same troubles (all save one) if the book featured a hetero couple.

It’s the first book in a trilogy (?) so, as you might imagine, it doesn’t end with a happily ever after. As soon as I finished this one, I immediately bought book two.

View all my reviews

