Sous ChefSous Chef by Michael Gibney
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every once in awhile, there is a non-fiction books that captures my imagination as much as as beloved fiction book. The last one was 2012’s Heads in Beds. This year, it is Sous Chef. Aside from a few minor complaints, it was the perfect way to spend a few afternoons and you’ll learn more than a little about life in restaurant. The author writes with such clarity that you can almost see, hear and smell the things he describes. And he write with such empathy, you feel as if you know the people surrounding him.

Two things that may throw people off: First, he writes in the 2nd person, which is just odd. It took me a few chapters to get used to it. Second, I wish I had known there was a glossary at the back of the book. While he explains most things as he goes along, there were a few times I wish I’d known more about a certain thing or two. This may or may not be the case for other readers, depending on their familiarity with working in kitchens and/or fine dining. All occupations suffer from their own occupational languages, so some confusion is to be expected. The glossary is fantastic.

I also wish it wouldn’t have ended so abruptly. Simply put, I wanted MORE. I found myself looking to see what happened next. That’s the mark of a fantastic book.

View all my reviews

