UnforgivableUnforgivable by Joanna Chambers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great story! Not your usual misunderstanding tale, this is a story where the actions by most characters are completely deliberate. Each character has their own reasons for their actions, but the actions themselves aren’t accidental. Each person in the story acts of their own volition, regardless of the circumstances that make up their situations, and they each have to atone for their actions. Well, one character does not have to atone for his actions because he dies. The rest have to work at cleaning up the messes they’ve made.

While the characters are the best part of this book, Chambers went a little far trying to make everyone equally culpable for the mess that is created. I think she stretched a little with one character’s actions. While I enjoyed Rose’s subterfuge, I’m not sure I believe she would have taken that particular action. But, the end result was perfect and was just one more action in the emotional rollercoaster that is this book.

One thing I did particularly appreciate was how Chambers handled Gil’s ex. Instead of turning her into a shrew-esque obstacle, Chambers allowed her to find her own happiness. It really was a nice and unexpected twist.

All in all, I loved this book and I look forward to reading more from Chambers.

View all my reviews

