SuspectSuspect by Robert Crais
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Off series for Crais, or maybe the start of a new series, I only missed Elvis and Joe for a few chapters. After that, I was fully captured by the new characters and the new story. Scott James was the victim of an unsolved shooting that killed his partner. While the department wants him to take the disability and run, James stubbornly refuses and gets himself assigned to the K9 unit. His new partner, Maggie, lost her partner in Afghanistan. Both are suffering from PTSD, and are trying to make their way in this new world. James is also determined to solve the shooting that haunts him every night.

There are the usual mystery novel twists and turns. What makes this book stand out are the main characters. And, yeah, let’s be honest. James is nice, but you’re really meant to fall in love with sweet Maggie. And you will, because she’s written with a depth and vibrancy that some authors only wish they could pour into their human characters. I’m not sure I would go so far as to say this is a “dog book”, but it’s definitely a book dog lovers would enjoy. And mystery lovers.

View all my reviews

